Brownfield land register

New regulations came into force in April 2017 making it a statutory duty for Local Authorities to prepare, maintain and publish a register of brownfield land (developed land previously used for something else, excluding agricultural and forestry uses).

Under Town and Country Planning (Brownfield Land Register) Regulations 2017, any previously developed land that is suitable for residential development and meets certain criteria should be included in the register.

The criteria for brownfield sites to be included is as follows:

  • the land has an area of at least 0.25 hectares or is capable of supporting at least five dwellings
  • the land is suitable for residential development
  • the land is available for residential development, and
  • residential development of the land is achievable.

The brownfield regulations explain the criteria and definitions in more detail.

The information in the register is in a standard format set by government, and aims to inform developers and communities of potential site locations to encourage development in appropriate areas.

The register is split into two parts:

  • Part 1 – all sites that have been assessed against the criteria. These include:
    • brownfield sites that have been granted planning permission and have not yet been implemented
    • brownfield sites that are allocated for residential development in the emerging draft Thanet Local Plan.
  • Part 2 – any sites covered in Part 1 that have been granted permission in principle

If a site is under construction, this means that the planning application is being implemented and so it will not be on the register. Part 2 has no entries as none of the sites listed currently qualify for part 2 status.

More information

The register is published under the Open Government Licence.

Help & support

Did you find this page useful?