We use cookies on your computer or mobile device to help make this website better. You can find out what Cookies we use and how you can change your settings here. Our Data Protection Policy has been updated.

By closing this window, we’ll assume you’re okay to continue.


        How do you assess hazards in rented properties?

        The Housing Act 2004 introduced a new way of assessing the suitability of living accommodation.

        From the 6 April 2006, the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) has been used to assess all types of accommodation.  This includes:

        • flats
        • houses
        • student houses
        • houses in multiple occupation

        It affects both rented and owner-occupied properties.

        The HHSRS looks at health and safety issues within the home.  It aims to improve housing conditions and the health and safety of the occupants.

        These pages introduce you to the HHSRS and your obligations under the new legalisation. They explain how Thanet District Council’s Housing Regeneration Team ensures all homes are free from serious hazards that could affect people’s health.

        Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS)

        There are 29 hazards that can now be assessed in the home.

        The underlying aim of the HHSRS is to ensure that all residential premises provide a safe and healthy environment for all potential occupiers or visitors.


        Did you Know ?

        Accidents in the home account for around 50,000 deaths each year. These hazard profiles are considered the main areas requiring improvement in the general housing stock to ensure homes are safer to live in. It is unlikely that all 29 hazards will be found in any one house.

        Did you find this page useful?