10 May, 2024

New Chair and Vice Chair elected at Thanet District Council

Thanet District Council welcomed a new Chair and Vice Chair as part of the Annual Council meeting held on Thursday 9 May 2024.

Labour Councillor Debra Owen-Hughes, who is ward Councillor for Northwood Ward and formerly the council’s Vice Chair, was elected as Chair of the Council.

Councillor Anne-Marie Nixey who is also a Labour Councillor and represents the ward of Nethercourt, was elected Vice Chair.

After being invested with the badge and Chain of Office, Councillor Owen-Hughes gave thanks to former Chair, Councillor John Edwards for his time in the post over the past 12 months. 

Speaking for the first time as Chair, Councillor Owen Hughes commented on the ‘collaboration and progress she had witnessed in the council over the past year’ and expressed her hope that the next 12 months will be ‘even more productive, more effective and extremely constructive’.

At the meeting, Council Leader, Cllr Rick Everitt also confirmed a new appointment to the Cabinet with Councillor Kristian Bright now in post as the new Cabinet Member for Parking.

Cllr Bright joins Councillor Helen Whitehead who is Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Housing, Councillor Rob Yates who is Cabinet Member for Corporate Services, Cllr Steve Albon who is Cabinet Member for Cleansing and Coastal Services, Councillor Ruth Duckworth who is Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Property and Councillor Heather Keen who is Cabinet Member for Neighbourhoods.

The full reports presented at the meeting can be viewed on the council’s website.

Share this story