18 May, 2023

New Leader and Cabinet confirmed at Thanet District Council

The chamber at Thanet District Council hosted the Annual Council meeting on Thursday 18 May 2023. As the first meeting of the Council since the recent May elections, business was concentrated on formally appointing the Leader and Deputy Leader and creating committees for the forthcoming Council year.

Councillor Rick Everitt was appointed as Leader while Councillor Helen Whitehead was appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council. Cabinet and Shadow Cabinet portfolio holders were also confirmed at the session which saw many newly-elected councillors attending for the first time.

Following the elections held on Thursday 4 May, Labour secured 30 seats giving them an overall majority and therefore control of the Council. The results of the elections were as follows: 30 Labour; 17 Conservative; 5 Green; 3 Thanet Independent; 1 Independent.

In total there are 56 seats in Thanet representing 23 different wards across the district. Of the 56 elected members, 23 are newly-elected. Residents can find out who their local councillors are on our website. 

The new Council Leader, Councillor Rick Everitt commented: ​”I am delighted to have been able to appoint an experienced and enthusiastic team to lead the new Council. While this may be a majority administration, which has been a rarity in Thanet in recent years, we recognise that our duty is to advance the interests of all parts of the district and work hard for all residents. We will do so with humility, integrity and determination.”  

The Cabinet comprises six councillors looking after the following portfolios: 

Portfolio Portfolio holder
Strategy and Transformation Cllr Rick Everitt (Leader of the Council)
Housing Cllr Helen Whitehead (Deputy Leader of the Council)
Cleansing and Coastal Cllr Steve Albon
Corporate Services  Cllr Rob Yates
Neighbourhoods Cllr Heather Keen
Regeneration and Property Cllr Ruth Duckworth

At the meeting, councillors were also appointed to serve on each of the Council’s committees, which include Planning, Overview and Scrutiny, Licensing and Standards. 

The Council Chair is Councillor John Edwards and the Vice Chair is Councillor Debra Owen-Hughes. The Chair is responsible for officiating at council meetings and acts as the designated civic representative for Thanet District Council.

Share this story